Cost
How much does TRT cost online? Membership, meds and labs explained
Online TRT costs more than the headline price once you add the membership, labs and plan length. Here is what each program charges for each part, sourced.
By Julian Caraulani · Updated October 26, 2026
Online TRT starts at $79 a month all in today (PeterMD, TRT, 12-month plan, 12-month plan ($948 total shown)), but the advertised price is often only part of the bill. What you actually pay depends on four things: whether a membership is charged on top of the medication, who pays for the lab tests, whether you prepay for several months, and whether the testosterone is compounded or FDA-approved.
The exact figures for each program are in the tables below and on our live price table, where every price links to the page we read it on. We keep dollar amounts in tables only, so they can be checked against the source and updated in one place.
What each program charges, part by part
Every row comes from the program's own pricing page, read on October 26, 2026, unless the source says otherwise. "Lowest monthly" is the cheapest plan we found with any required membership added. A dash means the program does not charge that item separately; "not published" means we could not find it.
| Program | Lowest monthly (plan) | Month to month | Required membership | First labs | Follow-up labs | Insurance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PeterMD | $79 (12-month plan, $948 total) | $139 | None found | Quest panels $247, $297 or $549 | Not published | No; may bill insurance for labs ($25 processing fee); FSA/HSA accepted | getpetermd.com |
| Maximus | $99.99 (6-month plan) | $199.99 | None | $199.99 a year lab panel | In the yearly panel | Not stated | maximustribe.com |
| Hims | $128 ($79 compounded injection + $49 membership) | Same | $49 (billing frequency not stated) | In the membership | Two lab tests a year in the membership | No | hims.com |
| Taurus Meds | $149 | $149 | None | $49 first lab test | Included | No | taurusmeds.com, lab page |
| MangoRx | $149 | $149 | None stated | Included | Not published | Not stated | mangorx.com |
| Hone Health | $183 ($155 membership + medication from $28) | Same | $155 a month (Premium) | $65 test and consult | Included in the membership | Not stated | honehealth.com |
| Brightmeds | From $191 ("starts at") | Not published | None | Included | Included | Not stated | brightmeds.com |
| Male Excel | $219 ($120 medication + $99 membership) | Same | $99 a month | At-home kit with the $99 first consult | Not published | No; FSA/HSA accepted | maleexcel.com |
| LifeMD | About $249 (Xyosted program) | Same | Not stated for TRT | Quest or Labcorp, cost not published | Not published | Not stated | Press release |
| GoodLife Health | $299 membership; testosterone billed by the pharmacy at cost | Same, 2-month minimum | $299 a month | Included | Lab panel every 90 days included | Membership is cash | goodlifehealth.ai |
Membership vs medication: the price people miss
The biggest gap between the ad and the bill is the membership. Some programs quote one price that covers the clinician, the medication and shipping. Others quote the medication alone and add a monthly membership at checkout.
Hims says it plainly on its testosterone page: you pay a membership fee at checkout and the medication cost is not included (hims.com). Hone lists its testosterone "from" price followed by "+ membership" (honehealth.com). Male Excel states the medication price does not include the medical membership, which is required for treatment (maleexcel.com).
When you compare programs, add the membership to the medication first. That is how our price table and best TRT programs ranking work.
Labs: the first test and the follow-ups
You need blood work before a clinician can prescribe testosterone, and more blood work once you are on it. The American Urological Association guideline says a man is a candidate for testosterone therapy only when he has both low testosterone levels and symptoms or signs linked to them (AUA guideline). That means the first lab test is not optional at any legitimate program.
Programs handle the cost in three ways:
- Included: Brightmeds and MangoRx put lab work inside the monthly price; GoodLife includes a panel every 90 days in its membership.
- First test paid, follow-ups included: Taurus charges for the first test and includes routine follow-up tests; Hone charges for the first test and consult, then covers retesting in its Premium membership.
- Paid separately: PeterMD and Maximus sell lab panels on top of the plan. PeterMD's panels cost more than many rivals' first month.
A program that looks cheaper per month can cost more over a year if you pay for every follow-up test yourself.
Prepay vs month to month
The lowest monthly figures almost always come with a long plan paid up front. At PeterMD, the 12-month plan works out far cheaper per month than month to month. At Maximus, month to month costs about twice the 6-month rate. The table shows both prices so you can see the gap.
Prepaying carries a real risk. PeterMD's refund policy says all purchases are final once medication is received, and renewals must be cancelled at least 48 hours ahead (refund policy). Brightmeds says its TRT price rises on the second payment of its 3, 6 and 12 month plans (brightmeds.com). If you are new to TRT and not sure it suits you, the month-to-month price is the safer first step, even though it costs more.
Compounded vs FDA-approved: why the same program has two prices
Most online programs dispense compounded testosterone, mixed by a pharmacy for each patient. The FDA states that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, which means the agency does not verify their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed (FDA). Maximus says the same on its own page (maximustribe.com).
FDA-approved options cost more. Hims sells three versions on one page, which makes the gap easy to see:
| Hims option | Drug type | Medication price | Plus membership | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compounded testosterone cypionate injection | Compounded | From $79/mo | $49 | hims.com |
| Generic testosterone cypionate injection | FDA-approved generic | From $159/mo | $49 | hims.com |
| Kyzatrex oral capsules | FDA-approved brand | From $179/mo | $49 | hims.com |
LifeMD's self-pay program uses Xyosted, an FDA-approved testosterone enanthate auto-injector whose label carries a boxed warning about blood pressure increases (Xyosted label). It is the most expensive all-in option in our table.
Insurance, FSA and HSA
Almost every online TRT program is cash only. Hims says it does not take insurance (hims.com), and Male Excel says its program is not covered by insurance (maleexcel.com). Two exceptions help at the edges: PeterMD may bill insurance for blood work on request, and both PeterMD and Male Excel accept FSA or HSA cards.
If you have good insurance, a local urologist or primary care doctor may cost less over a year. A 2022 study of three telemedicine platforms found that a year of injections cost more through the platforms than at a hospital clinic that could bill insurance (Jesse et al., J Sex Med 2022). The study looked at only three platforms and one hospital, so treat it as a direction, not a precise figure:
| Twelve months of testosterone injections (2022 study) | Cost range | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Three telemedicine platforms | $1,586 to $4,200 | PubMed |
| One tertiary hospital center, by insurance type | $134.01 to $1,333.04 | PubMed |
Watch for 4-week billing
Some subscriptions bill every 4 weeks instead of every calendar month. That means 13 charges a year, not 12, so the real monthly cost is about 8% higher than the number on the page. None of the TRT plans in our table bill every 4 weeks; Male Excel bills its medication every two months.
Online access may change in 2027
Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance. A DEA rule currently lets registered clinicians prescribe Schedule II to V drugs by telemedicine without an in-person visit, and it is effective January 1, 2026 through December 31, 2026 (Federal Register). If no permanent rule or further extension follows, an in-person visit could be required again, which would add a cost that none of these prices include.
FAQ
How much does TRT cost online?
Most programs we checked land between the low and mid hundreds of dollars a month once the membership is added. Labs can add more, either as a one-time first test or as a yearly panel. See the live price table for each program's current figure.
What is the cheapest way to get TRT online?
The lowest monthly prices come from long prepaid plans with compounded testosterone. Those plans often refund nothing once medication ships, so compare the month-to-month price and the lab costs before you commit.
Are labs included in the monthly price?
At some programs, yes; at others you pay for each panel. The first table above shows how each program handles it.
Does insurance pay for online TRT?
Rarely. Most programs are cash only. A few accept FSA or HSA cards, and PeterMD may bill insurance for lab work.
Why is FDA-approved testosterone more expensive?
Compounded testosterone is mixed by a pharmacy and is not reviewed by the FDA as a finished product. FDA-approved generics and brands such as Kyzatrex and Xyosted go through that review and cost more at the programs that offer them.
Compare every program's all-in monthly price on our TRT price table, or see which programs rank highest on our best TRT programs page.